How to choose a business printer in Australia
There are five broad kinds of print provider in Australia. Each suits a different buyer. This page sets out what each does well, who it suits, and what published prices looked like when we checked.
There are five broad kinds of business print provider in Australia: online printers, letterpress and craft studios, franchise print shops, real estate print platforms, and premium consultancy-led print services such as Proof & Print. They differ in who checks your file, whether prices are published, what the price includes and how much help you get. None of them suits every job.
This guide is written by Proof & Print, so read it knowing that. We have tried to be fair: each section says what that kind of provider does well and who it suits, and the prices come from each provider's own published pages, with links and capture dates.
What are the five kinds of print provider?
Online printers (for example Vistaprint, Officeworks print, Click Business Cards, The Online Printer). You upload a file, choose options and pay. Prices are low and published, turnaround is quick, and the process is self-serve. Best for: simple, low-cost runs you need quickly, when you are confident your file is right.
Premium online printers (for example MOO and Paperlust Print Shop). Self-serve like an online printer, but with heavier stocks, special finishes and sample packs. Paperlust says it runs a pre-press check and sends a digital proof on every order. Best for: design-led buyers who want special finishes and are happy to order online themselves.
Letterpress and craft studios (for example The Distillery in Sydney). Small studios that print by hand on cotton and heavy board, with in-studio consultations and published package prices. Best for: letterpress, cotton stock and edge finishes, where the card is a craft object.
Franchise print shops (for example Kwik Kopy and Snap). Local centres across the country with walk-in service, design help, signage and, for larger clients, ordering portals. Best for: local walk-in service, same-week jobs and a shopfront you can visit.
Real estate print platforms (for example Campaigntrack and Realhub). Software that builds listing artwork from agency templates and CRM data and routes orders to print and signage suppliers. Best for: agencies that want every listing's artwork generated from one system of templates.
Premium consultancy-led print services (Proof & Print). A named consultant specifies the job, a person checks every proof against a written checklist, premium stock is the default, and published prices include GST and metro delivery. Best for: real estate agencies, law and accounting practices, corporate teams and developers who want one accountable person and a proof read by a human on every job.
How do published prices compare?
The table shows published prices for business cards from each kind of provider, on the closest specification we could find to ours. The specifications are not identical: stock weight, finish, size and delivery differ, and each row says what was priced. Prices as at 17 October 2026 unless another capture date is shown.
| Provider | Type | Specification | Qty | Price | Delivery | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Proof & Print | Premium print service | 450gsm soft-touch both sides, spot gloss on the front (our featured spec) | 250 | $240 | Included (metro) | Our pricingPrice book |
| Vistaprint AU | Online printer | Premium business cards, soft-touch laminate, 91 x 55mm | 250 | $58.99 | Not included | vistaprint.com.auCaptured 7 October 2026 |
| Snap (online ordering) | Franchise print network | 350gsm, matt laminated both sides, printed both sides | 250 | $137.85 | Not included | printonline.snap.com.auCaptured 7 October 2026 |
| Paperlust Print Shop | Premium online printer | Spot UV business cards | 250 | $158.85 | Extra (listed at $10 standard) | printshop.paperlust.coCaptured 17 October 2026 |
| MOO | Premium online printer (international) | Luxe business cards, 600gsm with a colour seamFrom a search listing; not verified on the live page. | 100 | $100 | Free over a spend threshold | moo.comCaptured 17 October 2026 |
| The Distillery | Letterpress studio | Classic package: letterpress, one side, board stockFrom a search listing; not verified on the live page. | 250 | $380 | Not stated | the-distillery.com.auCaptured 17 October 2026 |
| Kwik Kopy | Franchise print network | Business cardsNo public price list found; centres quote individually. | – | Not published | Not stated | kwikkopy.com.auCaptured 17 October 2026 |
| Campaigntrack and Realhub | Real estate print platform | Signboards and print ordered through the platformNo public price list found; pricing is set through the platform and its suppliers. | – | Not published | Not stated | agent.domain.com.auCaptured 17 October 2026 |
Two things stand out. Online printers are several times cheaper for a basic laminated card: $58.99 for 250 at Vistaprint against $240 for our featured spec. And letterpress studios cost more again: The Distillery's Classic package was $380 for 250. Franchise networks and real estate platforms mostly quote rather than publish.
How do the five kinds of provider differ on service?
| Online printer | Premium online | Letterpress studio | Franchise shop | Real estate platform | Proof & Print | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Named contact | No | No (business plans vary) | Yes, in studio | Yes, at your centre | Platform support | Yes, a named consultant |
| Prices published | Yes | Yes | Card packages | Partly | No | Yes, every standard item |
| GST and delivery in the price | Varies | Delivery usually extra | Not stated | Varies | Not stated | Yes, metro delivery included |
| Proof read by a person | Varies; check the provider | Paperlust says yes | Yes, in studio | Varies by centre | Varies by supplier | Yes, against a 12-point checklist |
| Letterpress | Rarely | Yes | Yes, the speciality | Rarely | No | Quoted, not built online |
| Signage | Some | Paperlust yes, MOO no | No | Yes | Yes, through suppliers | Yes |
| Typical card turnaround | Quick; often a few business days | Varies by product | About 10 working days at The Distillery, with a paid express | Snap lists 2 to 3 business days online | Depends on the supplier | Usually 5 to 7 business days; priority available |
Where does Proof & Print fall short?
We are a new firm, with no reviews or long client list yet. We do not print letterpress in a studio you can visit; letterpress is quoted work. We do not have shopfronts. We are not the lowest price, and our business cards usually take 5 to 7 business days. We do not generate listing artwork from your CRM the way a real estate platform does.
Detailed comparisons
- Premium print vs online printers: when an online printer is the better choice, with prices.
- An alternative to The Distillery: letterpress studio or consultancy-led print.
- An alternative to Paperlust: premium self-serve or a named consultant.
- An alternative to MOO: international online or local, consultant-checked print.
- Real estate print platforms: how Campaigntrack and Realhub differ from a print partner.
Comparisons use publicly available information as at the dates shown and are a guide only. Prices and services change; check each provider's own site. All trade marks belong to their respective owners, and no provider named here endorses or is affiliated with Proof & Print.
Questions
Something else? All questions or ask your consultant.
What is the difference between a premium print service and an online printer?
An online printer lets you upload a file, pick options and pay, usually at a low price with no person reading your proof. A premium print service such as Proof & Print gives you a named consultant, a person who checks every proof against a written checklist, premium stock as the default and a published price that includes GST and metro delivery. You pay more per card for the service around the print.
Which kind of printer should a small business use?
It depends on the job. For a small run of simple cards you need quickly at a low price, an online printer suits. For letterpress or cotton stock as a craft object, a letterpress studio suits. For a firm that wants one accountable person checking every proof across cards, stationery and signage, a premium print service suits.
Where do the competitor prices on this page come from?
Each price was taken from the provider's own website, or its search listing where noted, on the capture date shown in the table. We link to every source. Prices change, so check the provider's site before you rely on a figure.
Is Proof & Print the right choice for every print job?
No. If you need cards tomorrow at the lowest price, a letterpress keepsake, or one platform that builds every listing's artwork from your CRM, another kind of provider will suit you better. This page says which.
Tell us what you're working on
If you are not sure which kind of provider suits your job, send a brief. If an online printer or a studio would suit you better, your consultant will say so.